France: Country Signed Agreements With Ten European Nations to Ban Gay Citizens From Marrying

Written by scott on July 2nd, 2013

France - Google Maps

from Google Maps

France apparently has some long-standing agreements with ten other nations that bar French wedding officiants from marrying binational couples when one of the couple comes from those countries. Gay Star News reports:

France has signed agreements with several countries saying any ex-patriots would be banned from marrying under the new ‘Marriage for All’ law. The 10 countries are Algeria, Bosnia & Herzigovina, Cambodia, Laos, Montenegro, Morocco, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Tunisia as well as the region of Kosovo. All of the countries do not allow same-sex marriage and the estimated LGBT population of these countries is roughly 15.3 million people. These people would be stopped marrying their French same-sex partner. According to Radio France Internationale, agreements were signed decades ago but are coming into force in 2013.

A harsh reminder that we are still a long ways away from full equality, in spite of the advances of the last year.

Find more articles and gay wedding resources in France.


Leave a Comment